Tulane Home Tulane Home

Annual Programs

Newcomb Institute is proud to carry on the rich traditions of our endowed lecture series and programs. These events have an established place in the fabric of the campus and the community. Thanks to the continued generosity of alumnae and friends, we are pleased to showcase the following events and programs.

The Alberto-Culver Lecture Series

The Alberto-Culver Lecture Series, established by Carol Bernick (NC ’74), invites distinguished, nationally recognized professional women to campus to meet with students and discuss pertinent topics about women in business.

Past Speakers

2018    Kate White

2017    Kathy Waller

2016    Paula Meyer

2015    Debora Spar

2014    No event.

2013    Sylvia Ann Hewlett

2012    Sonal Shah

The Florie Gale Arons '50 Poetry Forum

The Florie Gale Arons ‘50 Poetry Forum was established by her daughters Andrea Arons Houseman (NC’82), Lisa Arons Aldridge and Gina Arons in 1999 in honor of her 70th birthday, and still flourishes. Poets give readings as well as lead writing workshops for undergraduates.

Learn about the Florie Gale Arons Poetry Forum.

The Betty Werlein Carter' (NC' 31) Lecture

The Betty Werlein Carter’ (NC’ 31) Lecture, established by the family and friends of the alumna, provides women students with information training, experience, contacts and involvement in the public policy arena.

Past Speakers

2018    Wagatwe Wanjuki

2017    Kelly Knapp

2016    Britteny Cooper

2015    Lisa Rice

2014    Lynn Paltrow

2013    Jennifer Baumgardner

2012    Lynn Rosenthal

The Custard Lecture

The Custard Lecture, funded by Marla Custard (NC ’91) brings speakers connected to the LGBTQ community to campus. 

Past Speakers

2019    Regina Kunzel, "Psychiatry and the Archives of Modern Sexuality"

2018    Alicia Gariza and Elizabeth Alexander (2018)

2017    Alexis DeVeaux

2016    Jess Dugan 

2016    Margot Canaday 

2014    Kate Bornstein 

2013    Alison Bechdel 

2012    CJ Pascoe 

2011    Mary Gray

2010    Susan Stryker 

Adele Ramos Salzer '40 Lecture and Reading Series

The Adele Ramos Salzer ’40 Lecture and Reading Series was created by a donation from this dedicated alumna and volunteer, and has been generously strengthened through gifts in her memory from her family, friends, and classmates. The series supports academic programs focusing on women's experiences in higher education.

The 2020 speaker is Deondra Rose, an Assistant Professor of Public Policy, Director of Research in the Center for Political Leadership, Innovation and Service, and Assistant Professor of Political Science at Duke University. Rose's lecture, originally scheduled for the spring, will be rescheduled for the fall 2020 semester due to the COVID-19 outbreak and the Tulane campus closure. For more information, click here.

Past Speakers

2017-18     Susan Komives

2016-17     Robin Ely

2015-16     Elizabeth Armstrong

2014-15     None

2013-14     Mary Trigg

2012-13     Nannerl Keohane

2011-12     Linda Sax

2010          Lynn Peril

2009          Cheryl Wagner and Dedra Johnson

2008          Monica Edelstein and Martha Ward

The Roe v. Wade Lecture

Newcomb Institute’s annual Roe v. Wade Lecture commemorates the historic 1973 U. S. Supreme Court decision that recognized abortion as a constitutionally protected right. Every January, Newcomb Institute invites a nationally recognized scholar of reproductive rights to present their latest research. The series, which engages student groups such as Students United for Reproductive Justice, Social Workers for Reproductive Freedom, Med Students for Choice, Students United for Reproductive Freedom (School of Public Health), and If, When, How (School of Law), has brought to campus scholars from a variety of disciplines, including history, architecture, sociology, and law. The annual lecture is preceded by a networking dinner and poster presentations by NI’s Reproductive Rights and Reproductive Health Interns and opportunities for legislative action for students, faculty, and the general public.

The annual Roe v. Wade Lecture is supported by the Donna and Richard Esteves Fund for Women’s Reproductive Rights and Reproductive Health.

Past Speakers:

2022     Loretta J. Ross, “Reproductive Justice: Human Rights for the 21st Century”

2021     Diana Greene Foster, “Consequences of Receiving versus Being Denied a Wanted Abortion in the United States”

2020     Monica McLemore, "An Uncertain Future – The Way Forward to Ensure Abortion Care, Access, and Reproductive Justice"

2019     Yana van der Meulen Rodgers, "Women’s Reproductive Health and Economic Empowerment”

2018     J. Shoshanna Ehrlich, "(Re)producing the Maternal Ideal: Abortion Laws and the Romancing of Motherhood" 

2017     Kimberly Kelly, “Abortion in the American South: Religion, Race, and Stigma”

2016     Rebecca Kluchin, “Maternal-Fetal Conflict in Post-Roe America”

2015     Lori Brown, “Contested Spaces: Abortion Clinic Design”

2014     Lynn Paltrow, “Interrogating the Differences between ‘Pro-Life,’ and ‘Pro-Lives’”

2013     Wendy Kline, “The Pelvic Instruction Controversy of the 1970s”

The Zale-Kimmerling Writer-In-Residence Program

The Zale-Kimmerling Writer-In-Residence Program provides a unique opportunity for students and members of the university community to meet with a notable woman writer as she spends a week on campus. The program was established by Dana Zale Gerard (NC ’85) and made possible by an annual gift from the M.B. and Edna Zale Foundation of Dallas, Texas. In 2010, the program became fully endowed through a gift from Martha McCarty Kimmerling (NC’63).

Learn more about the Zale-Kimmerling Program.

Fridays at Newcomb

Fridays at Newcomb is a lecture series with speakers across disciplines that provides students with the opportunity to learn about subjects outside of their majors. Lunch provided. It is free and open to the public. For event details, visit Newcomb Institute's calendar