Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

The Zale-Kimmerling Writer-In-Residence Program

About The Zale-Kimmerling Writer-In-Residence Program 

Each year since 1985, the Zale-Kimmerling Writer-in-Residence Program has brought a renowned woman writer to the Newcomb/Tulane campus to spend a week among readers and student writers who are eager for insight. Undergraduate students are exposed to an accomplished female author not only through traditional literary events, such as a public reading and interview, but they also have the unique opportunity to interact with her on an informal level through social events such as meeting for dinner or coffee during her week long visit.

Coordinated through the Newcomb College Institute, and facilitated by a committee composed of Newcomb-Tulane College students, faculty, and NCI staff, the Zale Kimmerling Writer-in-Residence program was established by Dana Zale Gerard, NC ‘85, and made possible by an annual gift from the M.B. and Edna Zale Foundation of Dallas, Texas. Since 2006, the Program has been generously supported by Barnes & Noble College Booksellers. In 2010, the program became fully endowed through a gift from Martha McCarty Kimmerling, NC’63, and known as the Zale-Kimmerling Writer-in-Residence program.

N.K. Jemisin will be the 2019 Zale-Kimmerling writer-in-residence. April 1-5, 2019.

Past Speakers: 

  • Rebecca Solnit 
  • Meg Wolitzer
  • Zadie Smith
  • Danielle Evans
  • Lorrie Moore
  • Susan Choi
  • Aimee Bender
  • Antonya Nelson
  • Valerie Martin
  • Amy Hempel
  • Clare Messud
  • Michelle Tea
  • Elizabeth McCracken
  • Curtis Sittenfeld
  • Julie Orringer
  • Ellen Gilchrist
  • Mab Segrest
  • Thisbe Nissen
  • Joanna Scott
  • Edwidge Danticat
  • Jessica Hagedorn
  • Ann Patchett
  • Octavia Butler
  • Deb Margolin
  • Ellen Bryant Voigt
  • Dorothy Allison
  • Lee Smith
  • Rosellen Brown
  • Linda Hogan
  • Sonia Sanchez
  • Ellen Douglas
  • E.M. Bronner
  • Gloria Naylor
  • Nancy Willard
  • Carolyn Forche
  • Alison Lurie